“Vision of Students Today”

Question 1: What is the role of collaboration in your day-to-day experience as a student?

Normally in all of my classes, I have to work with other students. Group work and group projects are normally assigned at some point in the semester. I like to work with others because it allows me to meet new people, but it also breaks up the work for everyone in the group. This way I get to learn new skills that people use when doing their assignments. I also interact with my professors as well. I like to meet with my professors one on one at some point in the semester to be able to get to know them on a better level outside of the classroom. This allows me to work with the professor throughout the semester in trying to make sure I am on the right track in the classroom. I think that as technology changes over the years this will hinder from students and professors working together.

Question 2: Which technologies do you rely upon for your school work? Which ones do you rely on for your personal life? Is there any overlap?

I normally rely on my laptop for a lot of my school work. With all of the new technology, I barely write on paper anymore. My laptop is used for papers, sometimes online math homework, to watch videos for class, and to use Blackboard and other school websites. I also rely on my phone for school. I check my email throughout the day to see if teachers have sent any information out to us about the class. I also get REBALERT updates on my phone that lets me know if something is going on on campus, or if my teachers need to get in touch with the class for any reason.

As far as technology in my personal life, my phone is like a life line. I always have my phone in my hand. I use my phone to contact friends and family, but also have my email at my finger tips. I use my phone also for social media and entertainment. I think that my laptop and my phone are both used enough in my professional and personal life. Technology has changed over the years that I have started to really rely on it to get through my day-to-day life.

Question 3: What do you think a “vision of students” today will be in 8 more years?

I think it is scary to think about how much technology could continue to change in the next 8 years. I think that students may not have to come to class in the future because everything will soon be online no matter what the course is. Students now buy online versions of their books, I think that online versions of everything will start to be the new pattern in the future.

Leave a Reply

